Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is just as important for older people to study or learn new things as it is for younger people.

Some people think that it is similarly crucial for the elderly to learn new things as it is for the young, while others disagree. For me, I agree with the statement. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, the elderly and the youth all need to learn how to communicate with each other. Therefore, learning how to communicate is also essential for the elderly. Take my grandmother as an example. My grandmother spent 4 hours per day studying English and Mandarin. That is to say, she often watches many Mandarin movies and memorizes Mandarin characters and words. In addition, she has a small brochure writing English vocabulary, which is quite similar to my TOEFL vocabulary list. Thus, she usually has no problems communicating with her grandchildren. Contrarily, my grandfather is stubborn, and he asserts that every Taiwanese should understand traditional Taiwanese fully. Therefore, he is not motivated to learn Mandarin or English to understand his grandchildren. Eventually, my grandpa’s Mandarin and English-speaking grandchildren usually cannot comprehend a single word that he says. Clearly, learning new skills is likewise essential for the elderly because they also have to talk with others.

Last but not least, old people should care about their health, so learning health-related knowledge is as important as it is for the young. Take my grandmother’s sister, Jane, as an example. Jane took several courses that pertain to old people’s health management. For instance, she learned that consuming Zinc and Iron boosts an elderly person’s metabolism. Jane also knew how to plan her diet carefully to prevent obesity and diabetes. Eventually, she had not gotten any diseases at the age of ninety-five, and she may even have a healthier body than most young people. On the contrary, my grandmother’s little brother, Tom, did not care about his health after he retired. He continued smoking cigarettes and drank alcohol every day. Hence, Tom got hypertension and obesity when he was only fifty-three years old, and he died at the age of 59. So evidently, maintaining one’s health is also crucial for the elderly.

To sum up, I agree that it is essential for old people to acquire new skills and knowledge because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.