Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether the government should focus on improving Internet access or public transportation can be weighed in many aspects. However, the statement is flawed because it ignores some key factors.

Admittedly, the speaker's claim appears to have considerable merits. Spending money on Internet access is inevitable in modern society. As the technologies progress, people no longer need to travel thousands of miles airborne just to have seminars or meetings. Instead, they can arrange virtual meetings online, and Internet access plays a crucial role in the process. Spending money on Internet access not only saves people's time from commuting but also saves their cost of traveling afar.

However, public transportation still remains important under several circumstances. To be more specific, although people can share opinions or images through the internet, they can't deliver tangible stuff. For instance, people can't have surgeries online. While most of the hospitals located in the urban area, not every doctor or related worker live in the city due to the high living costs. Furthermore, even if they live in the city, they can still dwell in areas far away from the hospitals. Public transportation then becomes a consequential part of their lives. In addition, public transportation can also help bolster the local economy especially for cities that are attractive to tourists. Well-developed public transportation can help travelers save traffic costs, and they will have extra money to spend that may aid the local business. Therefore, funding for public transportation is still necessary.

Moreover, the author falsely assumes that transportation and Internet access can be detached from each other. For example, when people want to travel for long distances, they will usually look up online for fast and efficient routes, nonetheless, the best routes sometimes involve using public transportation such as subways or trains. If the government does put much effort into the maintenance of these public transportations, they likely will be shut down frequently. When public transportations are not working, the information online becomes incorrect and therefore costs travelers more time and money.

In summary, the statement is not as persuasive as it stands. Although Internet access may be crucial to modern societies, the importance of public transportation still shouldn't be ignored. Also, in many cases, the developments of the Internet and public transportation are not separatable. Therefore, I fundamentally disagree with the statement.