Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Public transport system and internet access are basic amenities in the society which should be provided by the government. Both play similar but important roles, while the public transport helps the movement of people from one place to another, accessing the internet helps people communicate from both far and wide.

Firstly, the use of internet is global. It has helped people across nations keep in touch with themselves without having to use any form of transport system to do so. For example, banking transactions has been made easy by the use of internet. The idea of going to bank to withdraw, deposit or even speak to a customer care representative has reduced. On the other hand, public transportation has helped the masses tremendously. The more public transportation is made available, the more job opportunities are being created for the unemployed. For example, a driver will be needed to drive the public bus.

Secondly, the internet has helped reduced congestion on the road and pollution caused by some faulty vehicles ply the road. Accessing the internet has given us the idea that we can get things done from our comfort zone however some things cannot go to work through the internet which means the use of public transport is very necessary.

Finally, I disagree that the government should focus more on internet than public transportation.

In conclusion, although the internet has helped us immensely, job opportunities and the means of survival of people should not be overlooked. The more public transport are made available, the faster people get to their destination.