Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is often not a good thing to move to a new city or a new country because of the lost of old friends.

Nowadays, it has been a popular trend among modern citizens to move out of their hometowns.These changes of residence will inevitably incur several problems and much time is needed to get accustomed to a fresh environment.Thus, some people are ideologically against such a tendency, complaining that it will cause one to lose old friends.From my view, in spite of such detractors the merits of moving to a new place far exceed its defects.

First of all, more friends can be made in new surroundings.An old saying teaches us the truth that ''there are always more fish in the sea." Moving to a different place grants one a new neighborhood in which to reside and a new working environment in which to work.Either in daily life or at work, a new circle of friends will soon be created and maintained.Thus, it should be considered a blessed privilege to gain the opportunity to establish individual, the process of gaining more friends equates to that of making a bigger fortune.Indeed, there is no absolute stranger in the world.Bathing in the same atmosphere, mutual understanding might be initiated at any instead of losing friends, migration paves the way for gaining a new one.

In fact, old friends can still be kept in spite of longer distance.It is a smaller world we are now living in.Communications between people are faster and more convenient than ever.In addition to the traditional methods of making phone calls and sending letters or postcards by mail, new technology has brought forth many efficient channels that can help strengthen friendships across distance.For instance, numerous online instant communication tools have been developed.Among them, the most popular ones include MSN, QQ, Skype, Google Talk, and more.Faraway friends can be reached handily at any time.They can even see each other through video chatting.In addition, with more advanced transportation networks around the globe, old friends can get together in person conveniently.Just buying an airline ticket can make an old friend show up before one's eyes.Anyway, as long as their hearts are tightly bound, never can distance hinder the stable friendship between people who live apart.

Furthermore, other benefits can be gained from migrating to a new place.Undoubtedly, every city or country boasts its unique cultures and customs.Living in fresh surroundings can enrich a person's life experience and enlarge his knowledge scope.Meanwhile, better job opportunities may be available if the new place is more developed.In that case, the living standard and education quality might be enhanced as well.Besides, one's adaptability to changes is considerably improved owing to changes in the living environment.

Consequently, there is no need to worry about losing old friends after moving to a new place.Real and stable friendship should be strong enough to endure the test of space and time.Meanwhile, we ought not to neglect some potential advantages when people are immersed in a different living atmosphere.Thus, ample evidence is available to justify a choice to move away from a hometown.