The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

"Four generations living under one roof" used to be a widespread social phenomenon.Our ancestors tended to embrace the values and happiness established within close-kint big families.Relatives were co-habitants inside a large house, nuclear families are taking up the greatest ratio of social build-up.From a certain angle, I support the notion that the extended family, including grandparents, aunt, uncle, and cousins, appears to be less important than before.

Firstly, the form of habitation considerably affects the family relationship.At present, the social structure and people's lifestyle have undergone dramatic changes.The traditional concept in China valued the union of family members.In the past, larger families used to be the major units of the social make-up.All the relatives in a family were supposed to live together in a large private residence.Today, such a situation no longer exits.In today's Beijing, for instance, most of the yards they once inhabited are being turned into national legacies.Citizens are moving into taller buildings and smaller families, making up the modern society.To some degree, the separated mode of habitation lessens the importance of the extended family.

Secondly, owing to the higher speed of life and unprecedented social pressure, seldom can people afford to spend time in staying with the extended family.An online survey at Sina.com showed that 56 percent of people in China constantly feel short of time.The negative effects are also exhibited in people's family life.On weekdays, urban dwellers are busy at their workplaces.During the weekend, most white collar workers will make full use of their valuable leisure time to have a good rest so as to conserve enough energy for the coming week.Less time is left for people to stay together with their grandparents, aunts or cousins.

Finally, today's social reality has made people become far more self-centered than previous generations.Normally, one's circle of contacts tends to focus more on those who are useful to satisfy their personal interests.Attention is gradually diverted from family relationship toward creation and organization of profit groups.Such an abrupt change in people's values has indeed resulted in their growing indifference to their relationship with family members.

In brief, the changes that take place in many aspects of people's lives are double-sided.On one hand, they have worked together to bring about the unprecedented advancement of modern society.On the other hand, it is due to these changes that one's relationship with the extended family is no longer as important as before.