Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents should allow children to make their own choices rather than determine their children’s future for them.

As is known to all, to judge whether a man is mature or not, you ought to assess his ability to make decisions for his future. Unfortunately, due to the social pressure and personal problems, it's hard for children today to make decisions alone. Therefore, I incline to the statement that parents can determine their children's future.

The main reason for my propensity is that parents have so much experience so that they invariably do good to the decisions their children make. It is the general truth that parents have duty and responsibility to take care of their children and to protect them from hurt. However, faced with the soaring house price, the low employment rate and the high tax policy, hardly can these parents still pretend to have natural ease. Their responsibilities require them to raise the money, to better prepare for children's education and even to determine their children's majors and careers. As far as I am concerned, what they do is for the kids' own good. Since children haven't stepped into the society yet, most of their judgments are based on the illusion, which is unattainable and unrealistic. They have no idea how cruel the society is and hard the life will be. Conversely, parents' accumulated experiences in the past are able to tell the right from the wrong and prevent those children from making the same mistakes again. Therefore, parents are needed to determine their children's future.

Besides, children can't stand on their feet yet. It is a general truth that children nowadays are less independent. Such problem could be even more serious in China. Due to the family planning policy, each family in China is allowed to raise only one kid. Therefore, not only parents but also grandparents spoil this only child. They wash clothes for him, cook meals for him and even make beds for him. Consequently, this child tends to rely on others. Whenever he is confronted with troubles, he turns to others for help. Neither would he solve the problems alone nor have a try. Gradually, young men today lose the ability to make decisions for their own lives and that's why we need our parents.

In short, it would be better for parents to determine their children's future than for children to make their own decisions.