Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The knowledge we gain from our personal experiences is more valuable than the knowledge we gain from books. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Do not use memorized examples.

Some people argue that the knowledge gained from books is more valuable than the knowledge gained from personal experiences as books contains more knowledge, which might take our whole life to experience it. However, in my opinion, the knowledge obtained from our personal experiences is much more valuable for 2 reasons, which I will illustrate in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, knowledge in books are mere facts or concepts with lack of practical implementation. This information are confined to the topic only and cannot teach us how to implement those concepts in real life. My personal experience is a compelling example of this topic. Our chemistry textbook only contained different chemical equations and their end products, and our teacher expected us to memorize those equations for exams. I faced real difficulties in memorizing those equations as a result, I ended up getting bad grades in my chemistry class. However, when those same equations were demonstrated to us in our practical session, I could easily remember these equations as now the colours of those end products were fitted into my head.

Secondly, books can cover technical knowledge which can help us get started, but personal experiences can build our inner characteritics which no books can teach us. For example, my brother, who is a MBA graduate is an introvert therefore, making friends for him was like climbing a hill. However, when he started visiting office he slowly started making friends and building a network among his colleagues. At first he faced a lot of difficulties but after some time he got comfortable with the office environment and slowly started making friends. His experience in office taught him important concept of socializing which he could have never learned from books.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the knowledge gain from personal experience is much more valuable than the knowledge gain from books. This is because books contains facts and definition while personal experience can teach us some inner characterictics and practical implementation of the knowledge.