Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The knowledge we gain from our personal experiences is more valuable than the knowledge we gain from books. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern era, books are always related to gaining of knowledge and promoting an individual’s intellect. There is no shortage of opinions on the topic of gaining more valuable knowledge from our personal experiences than those from books. If I was forced to choose, I would definitely agree wholeheartedly without a doubt. I feel this way for a few reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the pieces of information written in books are sometimes complicated compared to those we have experienced personally. Books usually contain opinions of different individuals with various perspectives. While different opinions are piled up together, things get complicated and hard to be comprehended. My personal experience is a great example of this. The hematology textbook which illustrates the characteristics of blood cells is usually hard to follow as their explanation are too creative. However, I mastered in recognizing the true blood cells on my own after observing through the microscope. In this observation, I wrote my own notes and uses my own imagination to memorize the characteristics. As a result, it was more useful and simplified than those mentioned in the textbook. Hence, personal experiences are more valuable than those knowledge obtained from books.

Secondly, books provide shorter memorization and the contents are easy to be forgotten. In fact, books might be somehow boring with a ton of words and long sentences. Obviously, knowledge gained from written books is not going to be remembered for a lifetime. In contrast, individuals who do it manually would promote their thinking ability and solve problems with articulate logic. Moreover, this would be providing a long-term memory compared to those obtained from books. For instance, high school academic subjects usually consist of laboratory and lecture classes. As a surprise, I usually score higher during laboratory exams as I could memorize more knowledge through doing the experiment compared to the lectures provided by teachers. It is certainly clear personal experiences are definitely more beneficial for long-term memorization.

In light of the above-mentioned, I strongly believe that personal experiences obtained are more valuable than the knowledge we gain from books as books contain complicated illustrations and they only provide short-term memory for people.