Your local government has just recently received a large donation from an anonymous donor to improve

the community. Almost everyone agrees that the money should be invested in building a new public

facility. Which of the following do you think your local government should build?

- Build a public library

- Build a public park

- Build a public pool

No one can deny that there are both advantages and disadvantages of any public facility we choose to build. If I had to choose one, I would choose public library. I firmly believe that public library would be most valuable to the people compared to other facilities for 2 reasons, and I will demostrate them in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, the absence of library in my locality has forced people to purchase ebooks and view them on large tabs, as a result their eyes are getting damaged due to the constant strain on their eyes. Childrens have to travel to the outskirts of the city to get their textbooks which is quite cumbersome task and even then there isn’t gurantee that will get all the required books. My opinion on this is profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. My nephew, who is currently in 6th grade was looking for a physics textbook for past few days but cannot find anywhere, finally he purchased the ebook version of it. If there had been library in my area, he would have easily access to that book.

Secondly, many phd students in my locality are working on several research papers which require them to colloraborate on multiple occasions. Since there is no public library in my area they have to travel to the university library everyday so that their thesis gets completed. Sometimes it can become quite stressfull to travel everyday Also addition of library can provide oppurtunities for elderly to read books without travelling too far. For instance, my grandfather wish to read a book on Evolution of humuns but for that he has to travel outside the city which he can’t.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that public library should be build. This is because it make books more accessible for childrens and elderly people, and will help phd students to easily work together on a research without travelling too far.