Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Obviously we are living in an age with highly developed technology and high level of materials. However,does it mean our life is much more satisfactory than the age of our grandparents ? When we are enjoying the convenience the digital gadgets and automobiles bring, we are also suffering from great pressure and the feeling of loneliness and isolation these technology brings.

First, people in modern society have far less free time than our grandparents when they were young. Because the world is changing more rapidly than before, people have to spend extra time learning new skills to ensure they are not fired by their bosses. For example,my cousin who works for a software company, has to keeping learning new programming methods, because there are literally new programming methods emerging everyday, he usually feels exhausted and he complains to me that it feels like he could never keep up with the progress in this field. Moreover,because we are now living in a more spreader areas, many people have to travel a long way to go to work.A great amount of time has been wasted on the road, which leave little personal time for working people to enjoy their personal lives.

Second,people have higher expectation for themselves than before, which means that they are under more stress from their careers.For example, my friend who has achieved good accomplishment at work is still quite stressed and nervous when he is assign a new task.He has set up a far-reaching goal for himeselves and no failure is permitted. Such high expectation would make his life less enjoyable.On the other hand, when my grandfather was a child, he paid more attention on sharing his interests with friends rather than his studies,which made his life full of joy and laughter.

Third, people in modern age are less close to each other than before. My grandmother used to tell me how she lived with her big family and they had big delicious meal together.However,today people seem to have less close friends and they communicate with their relatives less frequently than the age of my grandmother.This kind of isolation can lead to the feeling of loneliness and in turn cause both mental and physical diseases.

In summary,I believe that modern life is harder than the age of my grandparents in terms of the amount of free time, the stress and the connection with others. If people could improve these conditions that affect our quality of lives, we would no doubt live a better life than before.