Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is beyond question that advertisements are an integrated part of a company’s strategy to sell its merchandise. Some companies try to impress their customers with exaggerated advertisements. I am thoroughly convinced that companies show an overstated performance of their product. In what follows, I will pinpoint two underlying reasons.

The first vital aspect to point out is that making a profit is the companies’ principal purpose; so that, they perform any potential action, which brings them more revenue. In this regard, advertisements are the most beneficial vehicle that can impact on people’s notion about a product. The increasing advancement of technologies makes people perplexed about which product to purchase due to the elaborate information that each commodity has. Therefore, companies manipulate commercials which are able to mislead customers with ease. As a case in point, I used to work in the advertisement section of a company which was selling cars. During my day works, I completely became familiar with the methods of deceiving people, such as exaggerating colors in commercials or showing a better performance in comparison to the real performance of cars.

The second noteworthy reason I would like to mention is that competition between companies propels them into overstating about their product. Each company should sell its merchandise in a market that is highly competitive. Indeed, some companies try to indicate a better appearance of their product instead of improving their performance. This matter derives from the fact that companies can go bankrupt quickly in such a market, and they prefer to alter the fastest way of competition in the market. My country’s experience is a compelling example of this matter. After the economic breakthroughs in my country, companies contested greatly to acquire the possible customers. Consequently, some companies faced bankruptcy due to the competition; therefore, policy makers in companies made a new decision which was based on better advertisement of products to shy away from identical results. After a while, the quality of products declined to an extent that were not suitable for most of the customers. Had governments in my country passes laws which could have regulated the terms of advertising, people could have bought more qualified products.

To sum up, in light of the stated reasons above, one can readily conclude that not only making high income, but also a profound competition in the market causes companies to exaggerate about their commodities. To solve this problem, the state should enforce legislation which is in favor of customers and make companies preclude from deceiving people.