“Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most business people are motivated only by the desire

for more money.”

In the contemporary world, businessmen play a prominent role in our society. Their decisions affect the economic status of a country and might even affect that of other countries as well. Some people possess the conviction that money is the only thing that incentivizes businessmen since they have gotten used to being wealthy(?) and do whatever it takes to achieve this goal while others argue that there are also other motivations/impetuses/ stimuli for some of them because after all, they are humans and not all of businessmen’s sole purpose is to obviate their own personal needs. I personally contend that that there are currently businessmen in the world that do their job out of other reasons in addition to money. In what follows, I will state two conspicuous reasons (that aptly elucidate my perspective.)

The first considerable reason is that there are documentaries that are created about some of the most notable businessmen. In those documentaries, directors thoroughly observed their personal lives as well as their work/professional lives. Based on what they have recorded, some of the businessmen are concerned about themselves not only with selfishly making profit for themselves but for other altruistic purposes such as overall well-being of a society or protecting natural resources. As a matter of fact, there are members of some of the most active naturalists and humanitarian communities among businessmen. Therefore, it is unfair to consider all of businessmen as egoistic money-making machines that have no emotion and consideration for other people’s lives. A specific example can help you illustrate your idea more effectively!

Another equally momentous reason is that since the contemporary world has become a sophisticated and competitive one, it is nearly impossible that a businessman will be prosperous on his own without the collaboration of other members of society. For instance, the biggest companies in the world such as Google or Facebook have numerous employees that act together to hold the company successful. Take one of the company’s managers for instance. If this particular manager, who is also counted/regarded as a businessman, only thinks of making money for himself, although this attitude might sometimes get in line with improving progress of the company, it is not beneficial for most of the time. To illustrate this, consider a situation where a product’s sale rate has fallen and it is due to the quality of different parts of it. And assume that each part of the product is associated with different parts of the company. If the managers of those parts only think of allocating all the company’s money to improving their own part of the product, the company won’t improve the product’s overall quality eventually. Instead, if each manager considers the welfare of the whole company, they will make efforts to spend the available budget as less/frugally as possible in order to improve the parts altogether. And this leads to higher sales since all parts of the product have improved at the same time.

To wrap it up, contrary beliefs might be tossed around whether businessmen are motivated only by money or not. By contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, it is straightforward to conclude that businessmen may have other reasons to do their jobs since not only are there altruistic purposes for that, but also they ironically might be more successful if they concentrate on the well-being of their workplace. As a matter of fact, there are some other reasons and examples that can be invoked to support my perspective, but let’s suffice to this.