Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important characteristic to a successful politician or leader is good communication skills.

How, you may wonder, will one’s ability to communicate with others influence his or her political or business career? Some people hold that this is the utmost important characteristic that promotes them to successfully carry out their goal in being politicians or leaders. From my perspective of view, however, I doubt this prove nothing but an overstatement.

Admittedly, outstanding politicians and leaders are, to be fair, almost all equipped with equally outstanding communication skills. Basically, this quality ensures them support, cooperation as well as execution in their career. such as during a political campaign, when a potential President is always giving speeches all over the country, expressing his/her political ideas and thoughts, whether Democratic or Whig, to the public. Without this sort of communication, people are less likely to vote for this candidate because, actually, they don’t even know him/her, let alone trust or support him/her.

However, what is far more important than communication skills turns out to be foresight. Namely, it makes sense that a successful political or leader should be capable of making predictions and planning both in advance and in detail. For instance, in order to achieve the ideal sales of a laptop computer, the marketing manager is supposed to evaluate where their potential customer base lies, where their promising market locates and which advertising approach would be more appropriate. supposing that the marketing manager lacks this sharp insight, he/she is neither possible to survive in the highly competitive market nor granted as successful.

In addition, it is the courage to face challenges that plays an equivalent role in defining a leader or politician as successful. To be more accurate, challenges require people to have the gut to make risky decisions and undertake whatever it might finally bring about. A typical example of this is bill gates, the starter and CEO of microsoft Corporation. Just imagine what will happen if bill gates hesitated about walking down the same and secure path as most of his contemporaries did instead of devoting himself to developing the MS-DOS system? Chances are that, practically, he would not witness the prosperity of his microsoft empire it is now today. With negligence to judgment, suspicion or mock around him, which are also obviously challenges, his risky spirit and efforts are ultimately paid off.

To sum up, despite the importance of communication skills towards the success of a politician or leader, it fails to be the most important one because other qualities, such as foresight and courage, can play an equal or even a more vital part in the career of a successful politician or leader. Only when politicians and leaders reasonably balance the weight of various qualities inside themselves can they fulfill what they desire.