Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important characteristic to a successful politician or leader is good communication skills.

Since the creation of man, many people have been trying to lead other people and they did everything they could to achieve this goal. Nowadays, people wonder whether good communication skills should be considered as the most essential characteristic of any good leader or not. In my opinion, having good communication skills is the most important characteristic that every leader, looking for success, should have. It helps leaders to convince their team members easier. Moreover, it would help them to make more friends that would be helpful for them. I will illustrate my reasons in the next paragraphs.

First, Leaders, who could communicate with others skillfully, can easily convince them in a variety of situations. Indeed, unlike leaders who don’t have good communication skills, they can recognize each situation and explain their opinion according to that specific situation. They can use a different tone, feeling, etc as an advantage to convince other people. For instance, I am a fan of the Esteghlal football club. Last year, they didn’t play well at all and they lost most of their matches include easy ones. Indeed, the players didn’t cooperate well with themselves in the pitch. Although the coach did everything he could to change the situation, he wasn’t successful. After several weeks, Team’s managers decided to change the coach. Surprisingly, they showed great harmony and win the game with a good score just one day after hiring a new coach. Indeed, according to the interview of the new coach, he acknowledged that he didn’t have enough time to change any determinants except talking with players efficiently and convincing them they are good enough to win any match. Actually, after that, he became well-known among fans as a coach who has good communication skills. Thus, good communication skills can lead you to convince other people simply.

Second, good communication skills help people such as leaders to make more friends. Making more friends can lead you to pass through difficulties much easier because friends can help you a lot. Thereby, they can help you to be a better leader. For sure, there isn’t any successful leader who doesn't have a bunch of friends. As an example, I’m working on a gas distribution project and someday we had a problem with the Power Department. Actually, they stopped us just because of a simple bureaucratic problem and they told us that it would take several days to give us work permission. Therefore, our manager decided to call one of his friends working for the power department and asked him for a favor. Hence, he helped us to start our work again in less than an hour. Accordingly, if he doesn’t have such a friend in that department, we couldn’t continue our work at least for a few days. Thus, having a variety of friends help you to get through your problems easier and be a better leader.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that good communication skills are the most important characteristic to become a great leader.