Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important characteristic to a successful politician or leader is good communication skills.

Since the creation of man, many people have been trying to lead other people and they did everything they could to achieve this goal. Nowadays, people wonder whether good communication skills should be considered as the most essential characteristic of any good leader or not. In my opinion, good communication skills are the most important characteristic that every leader, who is looking for success, should have. It helps leaders to convince their subordinates easier. Moreover, it would help them to make more friends that would be helpful for them. I will illustrate my reasons in the next paragraphs.

First, Leaders, who could communicate with others skillfully, can easily convince them in a variety of situations. Indeed, unlike unsuccessful leaders, they can recognize each situation and explain their opinion according to that specific situation’s condition. They can use a different tune, feeling, etc as an advantage to attract other people. For instance, I am a fan of the Esteghlal football club. Last year, they didn’t play well at all and they even lost their easy matches. Indeed, there wasn’t any harmony between players. Although the coach did everything he could to change the situation, he wasn’t successful. After several weeks, Team’s managers decided to change the coach. Surprisingly, they showed great harmony and win the game with a good score. Indeed, according to the interview of the new coach, hiring the day before, he hadn’t enough time to change any determinants except talking with players and convincing them they are good enough to win any match.

Second, good communication skills help people to make more friends. For sure, there isn’t any successful leader who doesn't have a bunch of friends. Friends help each other to get through the difficulties. Thus, if you have a lot of friends, you would be able to use their help whenever you need it. Thereby, friends push you forward to be a good leader. As an example, Imagine, you want to become a candidate for your city council. If you have a lot of friends who are ready to help you, at least you would have more votes. Moreover, they can advertise for you around the city and make more votes for you. Thus, good communication leads to making more friend which is helpful for you to become a great leader.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that good communication skills are the most important characteristic to become a great leader.