Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The most important investment of a company is to improve the skills of its employees. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A growing number of companies realize the investment is of importance at the age of full of competition. The problem about figuring out the most significant aspect is worth thinking. Someone suggests that there is no more important investment than improving the employees’ skills. I do not agree with it.

Admittedly, improving the skills of employees is a good way to earn more profit for company. It means employees will have ability to offer better service and finish tasks efficiently after they are well trained. If employees acquire more professional knowledge, they will come up with much more novel and practical ideas; if employees develop communication skills, they will get along well with each other and create a harmonious atmosphere; if employees improve sales capability, they will effort to sell more product. It is obvious that the investment of improving employees’ skills does play an important role in the company.

However, the development of technology is more important than improving the skills of employees. In order to survive in the competitive economic environment, company is supposed to constantly research new products. Comparing with employees, there is no doubt that the technology is more crucial. Consumers are not able to feel whether the employees require more skills or not. They are interested in goods, especially high quality with low price. Though employees have good abilities and can easily achieve their work, they still fail to raise the strong urge from consumers to purchase goods. For a business, the profit above everything else. So, developing technology is more necessary than improving skills of employees.

Furthermore, a better advertising is more important than employees’ skills as well. For example, a food advertising, which looks tasty and people desire to buy and eat it when they watch this advertising, helps company increase sales volume. Or the star who endorsing products is so famous that numerous fans are willing to purchase this commodity. For consumers, fascinating advertising makes them visually learn about the characters and decide whether to buy it or not. As I mentioned, consumers do not concern about the employees in company since it is none of their business. So that a nice adverting tactic benefits more than well-practiced employees.

To put it in a nutshell, although the improvement of employees is useful to some extent, it is not the most important investment. Company should spend the limited time and money on developing technology and advertising.