Many companies sell products or services but at the same time cause environmental

damage. Someone said it can be stop by ask them to pay penalty, such as a higher tax

when they cause the environmental damage. Others said there are better ways to stop

them from harming environment. What do you think is the best way to prevent the

environment from deteriorating?

Environmental damage is increasingly severe in the age of current society. With the developing of economy, when people purchase goods and enjoy services, they are supposed to realize that one of the main factors damage the environment is company productions. Someone suggests that asking companies to pay penalty is the best approach. From my perspective, I do not agree with it and consider that there must be better ways, for example, improving pollution treatment technology.

Admittedly, requiring penalty is of importance since the purpose of a business is to make a profit, so that companies usually attempt to reduce exception spending, such as penalty. If the government strict requirements about paying penalty for companies which cause environmental damage, these companies will be more likely to protect environment as we hope.

However, numerous cases prove that the profit companies earn is always much more than penalty. For example, the paper factory frequently leads to pollution because of using chemical materials to make production. They will benefit greatly through producing paper in the method that easily generates environmental problem, and that is why they prefer to pay for penal sum rather than stop working. Solving problems and restricting bad behaviors by money is actually not the best approach. The hunger for money is always unending. Thus, fostering people’s awareness of the necessity and helping companies be willing to consciously deal with pollution, like improving technology, is the most significant way to protect surrounding environment.

Furthermore, there is no better way to thoroughly solve environmental damage than developing pollution treatment technology. To be more specific, no matter what tactics we bring forward, the final purpose is avoiding damage of environment. There is no doubt that paying for penalty cannot decrease pollution from the root. If the paper factory tends to research method for changing toxic chemical raw materials and improving process, the pollution will be got rid of and meanwhile productivity will be boosted. This kind of win-win model comes into handy in current society.

To put it into a nutshell, although paying penalty can reduce the pollution to some extent, it is not the best way to protect our environment. Evoking people’s awareness and fundamentally solving environmental damage plays more crucial role and that is why I said there is another better way than asking for fines.