Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves.

Some people think that the most essential goal of education is to educate people on how to teach themselves, while others disagree. For me, I agree with the statement. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, one of the goals of education is to teach students knowledge, and teaching people how to self-teach themselves helps them become more knowledgeable. Take my friend Todd as an example. Todd was a self-taught programmer, and he learned various programming knowledge from Indian Youtubers. Also, he acquired numerous coding techniques by interacting with open-source engineers on Github. Therefore, even though he was still 19 years old, he could answer 80% of questions asked on Stackoverflow. On the contrary, my brother's algorithm professor, Mr. Lieu, set up a strict schedule for his students to follow. His teacher required all students to complete no less than 20 pages of algorithm problem sets every week, but these problems are so hard that each of these problems may require three months of research and investigation. Eventually, my brother could not absorb most algorithm knowledge from Mr. Lieu. Evidently, according to Todd and my brother’s experience, I believe self-learning helps students become more knowledgeable.

Secondly, education should focus on students' health, and letting students learn skills by themselves makes them healthier. For instance, my friend Linda went through a high-pressure education in Taiwan. Her parents required her to go to English and Physics cram schools nearly every day. Not only that, her math teacher assigned more than four math worksheets per day. Therefore, she slept less than five hours every night. In addition, her constant unhappiness made her get depression and schizophrenia. In the long run, her physical and health condition was so terrible that she needed to go to the hospital for sleeping pills and schizophrenia treatments. Contrarily, my aunt allowed my cousin, Ken, to self-teach himself. So whenever Ken felt exhausted, he could take a short rest. Similarly, he had