The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves

Education is always the priority for most countries. While some may argue that the most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves, I hold an opposite view on this matter.

Admittedly, teaching people how to educate themselves is a pivotal and ideal goal of education at first glance. After all, we live in a world boasting the daily birth of new technologies, some of which make self-education easy, efficient, and enjoyable. To be specific, every student, with the access to Internet, can log on websites with massive open online courses like Coursera, on which he or she can learn from the most preeminent professors of the most prestigious institutes like Yale and Harvard. No matter what you want to learn, be it psychology, computer science, or anthropology, all you need to do is type it down in the search box, and then choose from the tantalizing results. I once studied a very renowned course “justice” from professor Michael Sandel, whereby I got acomprehensive understanding of the fundamentals of political philosophy, as well as important concepts like utilitarianism and liberalism. With these online tools being so useful and helpful, self-education has become unprecedentedly achievable and important.

However, to say that self-education is the most important goal of education is clearly an overstatement. The sad reality is, the aforementioned online tools are still far from being ubiquitous: in underdeveloped countries and area, access to Internet is still a luxury. For children in these countries, therefore, learning things from a computer or tablet is unimaginable. To make things worse, other sources of information and knowledge are also in shorter supply in recent years. Libraries, as an example, are being closed due to their unprofitability, and make way for real estate development. As a result, even if kids in these countries want to educate themselves, there is no way for them to be equipped with the adequate tools and means. How can a student educate himself or herself when there is no book to read? Without these tools, self-education is only an illusion.

Thus, a more important goal of education, as well as the very nature of education, is very clear: to improve the schools, and therefore give students better and more direct access to knowledge. Public school, by its definition, is the most important provider of knowledge, and it is in schools that students learn what they need to make ends meet or achieve their self-actualization in the future. To be specific, there should be a higher salary for the teachers, so that the current teachers are more motivated, and prospective teachers are more attracted; there should be more teachers in smaller classes, so that each student has more opportunity to consult the teacher about his or her problems; there should be enough training for the teachers, so that they can always teach the most cutting-edge knowledge in the field to the students, and they know how to help students with diverse characteristics and preferences; there should be more updated equipment and facilities in schools, so that students can have a more intriguing way to learn new things. Instead of listening to the description from teachers’ lectures about cells, seeing how a cell really looks like by a microscope will make the student have a deeper impression. These are the more important issues in terms of education.

In conclusion, teaching people how to educate themselves is not the most important goal of education.