Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of technology and society, more and more family own their television. However, how televisions affect children is still an open question. Some people believe that TV and movies have more negative influences than positive influences on young people. Personally, I totally stand with this opinion, especially when the following arguments are taken into consideration.

To begin with, TV and movies can easily influence young people's studies. For young children, it is more attractive for them to watch TV instead of learning their lessons, because of the nature of children. They will be easily distracted by the voice of a TV when they are doing their homework, which is a disaster for their study. Take me as an example, when I was a kid, there is a TV in my living room. The first thing I got home from school is to turn on the TV and watch it, instead of focusing on my schoolwork. Consequently, I had terrible grades during junior high school. Luckily, I lived in my senior high school dormitory, where there is no TV. As a result, I abandoned the bad behavior and my grades improved.

Secondly, some movies or TV can teach some bad behavior to children. For instance, there are some violent plots in some movies, which may result in the violent behavior of children. According to a recent study published by Harvard University Press, prisoners are more likely to have the experience of watching violent movies when they are kids. 70% of the prisoners have the experience of watching more than 2 movies during high school, and 40% of the prisoners have the experience of watching more than 5 movies. These figures demonstrate that violent movies have a bad impact on children.

Admittedly, there are some advantages brought by TVs. With the help of TVs, children can have a wider horizon and gain new knowledge. However, with the above negative influence on children, movies and TV must be carefully controlled by parents.

In conclusion, I assert that movies and televisions have few positive influences than negative influences on the way children behave, such as harming children's studies and leading a bad example about violence.