Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One quality that a successful leader must have is to make decisions quickly. When a leader takes too much time to make decisions, he will be seen as inefficient to the people he leads.

It is difficult to be a great leader because one has to own many qualities to be an effective leader. Besides good communication skills, ability to discover talents and unite the whole group, making decision as soon as possible is also a necessary quality for a successful leader. Without it, the leader, even the whole team, seems inefficient.

First of all, in order to seize opportunities in this changing market, making decisions quickly is important. As an old saying goes, the only thing that is constant is change. This is exactly accurate to describe market nowadays. With so many variables, the rapid reaction is key to victory in business. The success of TAOBAO, the biggest also the earliest Chinese online shopping website, is a case in point. It’s CEO Jack Ma decided to invest in online shopping right after eBay became popular in America. At that time, computers had not come into everyone’s daily use in China, let alone to let common people embrace such a daring idea for getting daily groceries online. This quick decision is fundamental to TAOBAO’s development. In brief, to be efficient and grasp chances for growth, a leader has to determine things quickly.

Besides, deciding in a short time helps create a passionate working atmosphere. With a great deal of decisions have been made, team members are always clear about the orientation of their works and ready to complete tasks in a elegant manner. In this way, quick decisions have a positive effect on a team’s morale. In contrast, with considerable decisions irresolute and a lot of uncertainty worrying them, team numbers are bound to feel anxious. After all, great leaders are supposed to be aware of their emotional state and are able to manage intense emotions s to be responsible for relationship management that is crucial for great leadership and includes qualities such as being influential and inspirational and developing others.That is one of the reasons why outstanding leaders do not spend too much time making one decision.

Last but not least, when leaders opt to pursue additional information or avenues, they must also know when to stop. While a large amount of data may be desirable in a perfect world, the data gathering process can utilize too much time, and the vast amount of data can also be paralyzing and take attention away from the big picture or key data points. Taking too much time to make decisions is a waste of time because it is taking up the time of other ensuing works. Imagine a study group which has to accomplish a research paper in a specific period. The more time they spend on determining which subject to study, the less time they have for practical experiment and research. The slow decision-making process is obviously inefficient.

All in all, promptness in making decisions is really crucial to an excellent leader for the reason that it could help the team seize opportunities, maintain a high morale and spare time for practical works.