Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One quality that a successful leader must have is to make decisions quickly. When a leader takes too much time to make decisions, he will be seen as inefficient to the people he leads.

It is difficult to be a great leader because one has to own many qualities to be a effective leader. Besides good communication skills, ability to discover talents and unite the whole group, making decision as soon as possible is also a necessary quality for a successful leader. Without it, the leader, even the whole team, seems inefficient.

First of all, in order to seize opportunities in this changing market, making decisions quickly is important. As an old saying goes, the only thing that is constant is change. This is exactly accurate to describe market nowadays. With so many variables, the rapid reaction is key to victory in business. The success of TAOBAO, the biggest also the earliest Chinese online shopping website, is a case in point. Its CEO decided to invest in online shopping right after eBay became popular in America. At that time, internet had not come into everyone daily use in China, let alone similar websites had been established. This quick decision is fundamental to TAOBAO’s development. In brief, to be efficient and grasp chances for growth, a leader has to determine things quickly.

Besides, deciding in a short time helps create a passionate working atmosphere. With a great deal of decisions have been made, team members are always clear about the orientation of their works and ready to complete the next assignment. In this way, quick decisions have a positive effect on a team’s morale. In contrast, with considerable decisions irresolute and a lot of uncertainty worrying them, team numbers are bound to feel anxious. That is one of the reasons why outstanding leaders do not spend too much time making one decision.

Last but not least, taking too much time to make decisions is a waste of time because it is taking the time of other works which have to be done. Imagine a study group which has to accomplish a research paper in a specific period of time. The more time they waste on determining which subject to study, the less time they have for practical experiment and research. The slow decision-making process is obviously inefficient.

All in all, promptness in making decisions is really crucial to an excellent leader. For the reason that it could help the team seize opportunities, maintain a high morale and spare time for practical works.