Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.

The Internet can be considered as one of the greatest inventions of mankind. Though it has a few demerits, it’s widespread usage has a profound positive impact on the world. I feel this way for quite a few reasons, but I will mention a few of them in the following essay.

To commence with, the widespread usage of the internet has changed the way we communicate. Before the advent of the internet, people used to communicate over the telephone. Though telephones help in long distance communication, it has limitations when we compare it with the internet in a way that it allows only for voice communication. The telephones do not allow for video communication. The internet made it possible for two people living at the opposite ends of the world feel as if they are living right opposite to each other. The Internet has enabled people to have not just video calling but various forms of it as well like group video calling, sharing pictures etc.

Secondly, the internet has improved the ways in which we perform various tasks that have improved our productivity in leaps and bounds. One important aspect to bring up in this context is the way it has transformed banking. Back in my adolescence when my father had to send me money, he would go to a bank which is 20 km from home, fill in a form, wait in a queue at least for half an hour and only then he would be able to deposit money in my account. And guess what, he had to leave his farm work for at least half of the day to make this transaction. But if we look at the present scenario, we can do bank transactions at the click of a button right from where we are and this couldn’t have been possible without the internet.

Finally, the most important change that the internet has brought is the access to quality education all over the world. If we look around what is available on the internet for learning something, there are multitudes of sources to learn from. The subject could be as old as the universe or cutting edge subjects like quantum computing, we have access to the best content that one can ask for. No matter what grade a student is studying, if the student is interested in something that is not in his/her books, the student can simply go on to the internet and be amazed at what he/she can discover.

All in all, I personally feel that the internet is making human civilization advance in unprecedented ways. This is evident in the way it had transformed communication, increased our productivity by manifold and provides access to world’s best learning resources.