Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today’s world.” Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

These days, people use the internet for marketing, contacting, receiving information, and the internet brings people a lot of conveniences. In my opinion, relaying the internet also causes many negative effects. There are some reasons why I feel this way.

First and foremost, the appearance of the internet makes people can get others’ information easily. People are used to writing their name, email address, and even phone number on Facebook and post their daily life on their Instagram. Further, almost everyone has a communication account, such as WhatsApp, Line, and WeChat, and convenient social networking makes those account information become available for strangers. It is annoying, while it could be dangerous as well. My personal experience can demonstrate this. Once I went to a bank to create an account for receiving my wage. Surprisingly, the staff told me that my identity number has been used by another person before, so I can create the account there. She told me the name that I do not know, and I even cannot imagine how and why it happened. I guess that maybe I enter my ID number sometimes for signing up an account of games, shops, and the like, and some people took it to sale or for other purposes. Thus, I think that by social networking, nowadays revealing our personal information is much easier.

Moreover, although the internet solves plenty of problems and makes human life become more convenient, relying on the internet to solve their problems that let people have fewer chances to think. Since there are many resources on the internet, people can search for them on the search engine when they have any questions. Over time, more people are used to find the answers by their smartphones and laptops, instead of thinking on their own. It is not a good phenomenon, because when their mobile devices are not available, they do not know what they should do. Consider google map, for instance. In the past, people needed to remember all of the roads they were using and had a precise sense of direction. Since once they got lost, it was not easy for them to find the right ways, and they may need to ask other passerby or even go to the police station. Compare to the habits of people today, most people usually open the google map when they go outside, even it is only a short distance. Therefore, people should not rely on applications on their mobile devices too much, because sometimes they can do nothing without the internet.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that there are not mostly positive effects today from using the internet. This is because using social platforms makes confidential information reveal easier. Additionally, relying on using technology to address every problem will decrease the thinking ability of humans.