Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Parents are the first source of knowledge for any child. The statement perfectly sums up the role of parents in the life of a person by stating that they are the best teachers. In my opinion, the knowledge imparted by parents, knowingly or unknowingly, has a great effect on the overall development of a person. I feel this way for several reasons that I will discuss in the following essay.

To begin with, right from the time we are born, we learn everything by observing the people around us and parents are the only people whose actions, behaviors, and way of life a child would observe for the initial years. Parents transform a person from being totally oblivious to the rules of the world into a social being. They teach us how to walk, speak, eat, behave, etc. in a proper manner. Be it these most fundamental things of human life, or more important life lessons like having compassion, a sense of collaboration, and responsibility; everything that a child learns or at least starts learning is from parents only. Thus, I would say parents are the first teacher in most aspects of anyone's life.

Secondly, one learns the all qualities required to be a successful and well-recognized person in life such as hard work, determination, persistence, and discipline from parents. I remember the struggling phase of my parents in their early career when I was a child. I have seen my mother waking up at 4 AM in the morning, doing all the household chores, cooking food for the entire family, and going to school where she worked as a teacher. She will come back home in the evening, and again continue with all the responsibilities. With such a busy schedule, she did her master's in arts, and bachelor's in education. I got enough motivation from her that I consider her my role model. The energy she has even currently at this age just amazes me.

Some may argue that, technically speaking parents may not be the best teachers for a child in an academic sense. However, one can not forget that being educated doesn't mean knowing some academic facts only. It also includes being a person who cares about others, helps people in need, and contributes his or her fair share to the society, community, and the nation they live in. Parents put the first block of the vast architecture that a child's life is. They are the people who we observe from literally day one, and most of our actions, and behavioral or social characteristics are nothing but us trying to emulate what we have learned from our parents.

To sum up, parents are the first and the best teacher of any child. All the basic things needed to survive in life, behavioral and social traits, ethics, morals, values, etc. that we learn from the first time is from them only.