Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Parents today are more involved in their children s education than were parents in the past Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Without a shadow of a doubt, parents play an important role in inculcating children. A glance at people's attitude towards the time of parents that allocated to children's education brings to a light question that has been asked several times, namely, whether contemporary parents are more involved in their children's education or parents in the past dedicate more. Were I forced to choose, I would prefer the former point of view to the later one and I will elaborate on what rationale my perspective is based on in the following paragraphs.

The first reason worth mentioning is that the fierce competition in modern society forces parents to be involved more in children's education. Due to the terrible economical developing trend, available jobs for the young generation are decreasing year by year, which means people do have to equipped with more competitiveness than before. However, the process of cultivating competitiveness cannot easily be achieved only by children themselves. In this situation, parents have to dedicate not only their time but also their money to cultivating their children so as to help them acquire more knowledge and skills to gain a competitive advantage and get a better job.

In addition, the educational perspective of the society is changed gradually. In the past decades, school education is regarded as the most significant factor in children's education, however, many advanced psychological researches indicate that parents do play an important role than expected in developing their children. To illustrate more, home is the only place where lessons of formation of values could be held. Therefore, parents have more opportunities to shape their children's personalities and affect their choices by requiring their children to imitate how they behave in different situations. This phenomenon of perspective change contributes to helping parents devote more energy and time to teaching and accompanying their children.

A voice arises that compared to parents in the past, contemporary parents are busier so they participate in children's growth less. However, this claim must be scrutinized meticulously. In fact, with the development of management, parents today actually have a more flexible working schedule, which enables them to be involved more in education. Besides, modern governments are taking more serious supervise on the execution of 40 hours regulation and engaging in reducing workloads to parents in need. In the contrast, parents who lived in the past were troubled in the poor economic condition and forced to take some part-time jobs to feed on their children. In that case, they actually had less time to spend with their kids.

In conclusion, drawing upon the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly hold the view that parents today are more involved in their children's education.