Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in this progressive life where we live, every individual has a different way to cope with his or her problems, among which traveling sounds to be one the most conspicuous way. In this line of thought, one question that is the most prevalent among people is whether traveling inside or outside the country is beneficial for them. Personally speaking, I believe that a wider range of opportunities is provided for people if they take a trip inside their home country and they can benefit more in this regard. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are presented in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is no secret to anyone that traveling to the different regions of the country outweighs traveling abroad since each region in the country encompasses various culture and lifestyle. There has been a false premise (misconception) among people that the culture and the history of a country should be considered as a whole; however, one should notice that the sum is part of a whole. To put it in other words, a country is made up of different regions each with various culture, history, background and different lifestyle. To travel to each part of the country means to get familiarized with whole new sets of costumes and people. For example, Iran is known as a multi-culture country in which each city seems to be a new world with diverse assortments of culture and history. To put it into a more vivid picture, Isfahan- the central city of Iran- is called “Nesfe Jahan” which literally means half of the world. Not only the people of this region are unique but also the natural beauty of this metropolitan city is incomparable. The history of this city dates back to 2000 B.C which provide those history-hungry people a great opportunity to quench the thirst of knowing. Under such circumstance, traveling abroad is just a waste of money because people can enjoy their own country more.

Furthermore, undeniably one of the major benefits of traveling inside the country is making new friends and communicating with various people. Traveling abroad means that people should be able to understand the language specific of that region which is not an easy task for the majority of people. Although in different parts of the country a particular dialect is dominated, still people can understand each other and the process of communicating is not a big concern. A study conducted in Arizona State University revealed that most people afraid traveling abroad because they are embarrassed starting a conversation since they do not have a good command of the target language. Under such a circumstance, making friend is not an easy task and they will be high and dry with no outcome of their travel. As an illustration, my family and I went to Shiraz- a city in the western part of Iran- two years ago for summer vacation. While we were in the restaurant eating our dinner, we found out that another family who were sitting next to us has a daughter whose name was the same as my name. We started talking to each other, and the seeds of friendship were spread. This friendship was the most prominent souvenir one could take from a travel.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons into account, I firmly hold the view that traveling to one’s own country is more beneficial than traveling abroad. Not only can we learn depth knowledge about our home country, but also we can communicate more easily with people with whom we share the same language.