Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today are much better informed about international news that they were in the past Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With numerous events are occurring worldwide every day, it has become harder to keep up with all the current events. However, because of technological advancements and globalization, I believe that people are more updated on global news than before.

First, it has become more convenient to be informed on the latest events. The development of the Internet has made it possible for people to receive news in the blink of an eye. Every day, thousands of news articles are available online and in various sorts of media. Social media has also become an alternative source of news. Users can not only spread information by sharing posts, but search and learn about global news using hashtags. In addition, plenty of apps are designed for busy people to read about the daily headlines in a limited time. With an array of means to receive news, people are more prone to be informed on the latest international events.

Furthermore, people are becoming more aware of international events due to globalization. The effects of an event occurring is no longer limited to one country, instead the collapse of a country’s economy or a natural disaster can also affect other nations in the region or worldwide. Without checking the international news, one can easily become ignorant of the current situation. Therefore, people try to learn more information about other nations. For example, my father follows on the global economic news, while my peers often talk about sports events all around the world. This shows that people are reaching out to acquire international news.

Due to innovative and convenient means to receive news, people are easily informed on latest events. Another factor is globalization, which encourages people to learn more about global news. With these two reasons, people nowadays are more educated on international news compared to the past.