A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

It is essential that a teacher passes on their knowledge to students at school. Personally, I firmly believe that teachers connecting well with their students plays a key role in teaching them knowledge. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, getting on well with students improves their ability to profess the knowledge adequately to the students. If a teacher can get on well with students, they have a better chance at understanding the students’ point of view of learning and therefore teach the curriculum in a way which students can comprehend fully. An example of mine clearly illustrates this point. My homeroom teacher in high school also taught us Chinese literature. Due to most of the readings long and difficult, many of my fellow classmates were not looking forward to this course. However, she introduced us to various methods of processing the information found in the reading, helping us overcome the obstacle of misunderstanding the reading. In addition, she also provided us with interesting backstories of the authors, which helped us put ourselves in the authors’ shoes and look at the words from their point of view. This shows that connecting well with students give teachers an advantage in teaching.

Furthermore, teachers, who are the students’ support system at school, can assist and guide students more proficiently if they can connect well with their students. If a student does not trust their teacher, they are unlikely to ask for help from them in a dangerous or difficult situation. My classmate turned to my homeroom teacher I mentioned above for help when his parents were on the brink of divorce. He already had issues with sleep and fell behind in class quickly. My teacher not only checked on him frequently, but also encouraged him to talk to counselors if needed. My classmate’s mental health improved tremendously after her guidance. This example demonstrates that teachers connecting well with students indeed goes a long way when it comes to assisting students both in school and life.

In conclusion, if a teacher can relate well with students, they not only can teach knowledge more proficiently and efficiently, but also guide the students through overcoming difficulties in life. Therefore, I believe the teacher’s ability to get on well with students is equally important as their knowledge