Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today are much better informed about international news than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Well-informed vs. Money-loving

Will the result of the presidential election in the U.S. help me get a raise? Does the war in Middle East have anything to do with my life? Perhaps ordinary people living far away from places where these events take place can hardly find how they will affect them, but if I were to answer the question whether people are much better informed about international news, I would definitely say yes. And I would elaborate myself in terms of technology and human nature.

Well, let us first assume that the number of people who keep in touch with international news hasn’t changed ever since the first piece of international news came around, which I know is quite impossible, but please indulge me. People before us, no matter which period of history they lived in, didn’t enjoy the technological means to get world news as timely and convenient as we do. Caesar had to sent scouts to get him news from Gaul, General Washington had to read letters from his French ally and, merely thirty years ago, people had to leaf through the coarse pages of a newspaper or turn on a black and white television to passively get what the journalists wanted to feed them. Now look what I would do if I were to know what’s going on in the world. By simply tapping on any screen I am having with me, I am connected to the world. If I wanted to,I might get everything I need under five minutes rather than spending a whole day sifting useful information out of countless wordy documents, letters or newspapers. So, in a nutshell, if there were only two individuals, one from the past and one in our time, who pay equal attention to international news, the one in our time surely would be better informed.

After modern technology did its part, let’s talk about how human nature plays its role in this issue. Admit it or not, most things that we truly care about are those financially beneficial to us. The globalized nature of economic activity forces people to learn more about international news because their money is at stake. I can see some people are asking themselves thetwo rhetorical questions I put at beginning. Indeed, you maybe right, but remember that the world now is irreversibly on its way to a more globalized status, which means more and more people’s livelihoods are going to depend on a foreign stock market index, the fluctuating prices of raw materials extracted from another continent and whether this Covid-19 will end. When something is going to affect the size of one’s wallet, one should constantly keep an eye on it. And thanks to globalization, more are doing so.

As we can see more clearly now, people are indeed much better informed about international news, not only because technology helps us on this matter, but also because it’s part of human nature. And I believe the coming generations will be even better informed than us, since human nature will never change and only God knows what freaky technologies would come out of our greedy brains.