Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Not Good But Still Better

We tend to believe people before us lived simpler and less competitive lives. This sort of nostalgic sentiment can be easily brewed and attached to the imagination of the past when life is hard now. It is true that, when our grandparents were still children, they didn't have to cram up for exams or undergo a whole weekend on a busy schedule planned by their parents. However, it is very unlikely that anyone would trade their childhood with that of their grandparents, because life today is still much easier and more comfortable, especially in China.

Although most children today have been shouldering the excessive burden of study ever since they begin to memorize the alphabets, this burden is still lighter than the responsibilities our grandparents had to take when they were young. It is undeniable that a study schedule of any student today is quite appalling to their grandparents. 8 hours at school, 2 on homework, 1 on piano and 1 on English vocabulary, not mentioning a full weekend schedule of private tutoring on various subject and the goddam Math Olympiads, would make any grandma's heart break for her little pumpkin. Every loving grandparent would say they didn't have such a torturing early education, but what they don't tell us is how miserable their childhoods were.

A majority of our grandparents were born between the 50s and 60s or even earlier. As history tells us, these were turbulent times when children had no access to formal education and were subject to occasional starvation and constant poverty. Even though they didn't have to worry about their final exams or school projects, they still had a lot on their minds, such as finding a job to bring extra cash for the family or surviving a cold winter or a famine. Compared with today, the living standard then would instantly scare off any only child who has been living with all his needs satisfied. Put like this, an education, even a harsh one, can be regarded as a blessing. It's actually a very simple choice if facts are totally revealed to us: 1) a childhood of educational ordeal, sleep deprivation and constant competition, yet in a comfy environment, or 2) a childhood of physical labor, half-full stomach and obscure future, yet without exorbitant amount of homework.

Nevertheless, let's suppose there are two daredevil kids, a boy and a girl, who still want to get rid of the incessant coming of workbooks and wish to be two “care-free” children in the middle of the 20th century. If he was lucky to a first-born in a family with no political disadvantage, AKA a poor peasant family, it would be likely for him to experience a famine and later be caught in an armed street fight. If she was born in a city, she might escape the fate of being eaten during the famine and perhaps she would be forced to drop out of school and go to a rural area, leaving behind all the luxuries a city life could provide. Hey, maybe that's how grandpa met grandma!

That sounds awful but was exactly what happened to our grandparents when they were young. Of course, I know our children today suffer a lot: morbid education, tough love from their parents, etc., but when one is told how most of our grandparents' childhoods were really like, the only right thing to do is quit whining and live a happy life, which is every grandparent's wish for their grandchild.