Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on only one skill Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Skills, the founding stone of one's ability, have been valued and even triggered heated discussion. In some people's views, people should focus on one skill only. Contrary to these people's views is my perspective that people who develop many different skills are more likely to be successful. Because multiple skills enable us to find our interests and better fit in the working world.

What should be prioritized is establishing various skills; it is conducive for us to detect our interests. In the process of developing a variety of skills, we need to devote time and energy to different subjects. For example, after practising the piano, we drift our attention to the math equations and then conduct mathematic reasoning or try to understand math concepts. The discovery in different fields enables us to get access to an enormous range of knowledge from different subjects. After having a basic understanding of each subject, we may find some of them intriguing, stimulating us to keep discovering and scrutinizing. Thus, through learning different skills, we culminate in finding what intrigues us and deserves us to pursue. My personal experience is a convincing example of this. My parents provided me with different extracurricular courses, such as painting, playing football, writing etc. After getting in touch with these subjects, I found that I was interested in manipulating computers. Then I was motivated to keep exploring the computer. Eventually, I majored in Computer Science at the university and got a good job after graduation.

What should be equally discussed is that developing multi-skills is also instrumental for us to adapt to the working world. Nowadays, companies always look for employees with multiple skills. It is because different departments in the companies always intercept, requiring us to learn about knowledge from different groups. Thus, we need to have multiple skills. For instance, an employee who is responsible for sale prediction not only needs to master economy and math deducing but also needs to master international laws and different languages. Therefore, in order to excel in the working market, one should be equipped with different skills.

It seems mastering different skills would make one stressful. It is because one needs to spend most of his time switching from learning different skills. One may spend the whole night to complete reviewing the materials from different realms. Thus, he may be exhausted. However, extra skills can also help someone relax. For example, after solving the math conundrums, we can play the piano to help us release pressure. Hence, different skills are sometimes interrelated and inter-supportive, facilitating us to relive stress.

Reflecting upon all reasons mentioned above, mastering distinctive skills exerts a beneficial influence on our interests and careers.