Do you agree or disagree with the following statement

People who try to acquire more than one skill are more likely to become successful

than people who just focus on one skill

Being successful is almost all people’s ultimate aim. The need of talent in current society requires people to be supposed to develop their abilities to finally achieve succeed. But whether acquire several fields of skills or just focus on one is the question that confusing us since the time and energy in life is limited. From my point of view, I agree with that trying to acquire more skills will help people on the way to success.

Admittedly, there is no better way to acquire professional knowledge and become the best in your area of expertise than paying attention fully on only one skill. Some special jobs, such as scientific research and space industry with high technology, are always looking for someone who devote his life to study one technique. There is no need for a researcher working on the manufacture of aircraft to learn skills of other fields. The only way to prove their success is through their achievements in space, not through their ability to draw a sketch or something else. If they diffuse their energy to study other skills, the time to improve professional skill will be insufficient and less likely to become successful.

However, this kind of special jobs are in the minority, after all. Mastering more than one skill in some cases can make people more likely to become successful since the people who embrace varieties of academic skills means diversified talents. From my own experience for example, I am a college student major in Japanese. Instead of using my whole time to study this language, I also focus on computer programming. I have already passed a national computer test and when I graduate from college, I can study program in Japan or find a job which needs employees not only speak Japanese but create computer program as well. There is no doubt that I will get more chance to achieve successful goal than my classmates who only learn language skill.

Furthermore, acquiring more skills does not limited to academic study, it also claims the skills in daily life, especially the skills to get alone with people. The growing number of working require people to interact with others. If a teacher only concentrate on knowledge from textbook and has no idea about how to teach student, how to let them interest in studying, he is not a successful teacher; if a merchant only focus on marketing produce and does not care about the opinion from consumers, he is not a successful merchant; if a politician only pay attention to publishing political tactics and does not listen to public voice, he is not a successful politician. Only practising professional knowledge is not enough, communication skill is also of importance.

In conclusion, although focus on developing one skill do have advantages of becoming successful, the best approach to be successful is acquiring more than one skill. Academic skills and the skills in dealing with people are both come into handy. Therefore, it is undoubted to say that acquiring more skills in several fields helps people more possibly become successful.