Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that video games are a part of our lives now and children should not be deprived from this. They cite the happiness and excitement of children to play video games to support their argument. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that children should not be allowed to play video games. I will support my reasons in following paragraphs.

First of all, children gets very addicted towards video games and it significantly affect their studies. My personal example is the best case to study here. Till my senior secondary class, I was a topper and scored good marks to get admitted to one of the prominent Indian university. But in college, as I got introduced to laptop, I stuffed it with various vidoe games and suffered badly in my very first semester. If I had been carefull enough with video games, I could have better grades to continue in same university for my master program. Childrens’ brain is not mature enough to weigh personal enjoyment and carrer and in the influence of video games, they often ignore their very career. So, I think that children should not be allowed to play video games.

Second, computer, laptop, or mobile phone screen are bery harmful for our eyes. Many individual casually using laptop even end up with having powered spectacles and children could have far worse effects. For example, today it is very easy to find a kid with powered spectacles and we often hear from their parents that he or she use too much phone to play video games. If the children were taught to play outdoor games insead of video games, they could have not only better sight but physical health. It is also important to understand that video games not only effect children’s eyes, but also their brain functioning. Also, other violent and sexual depiction in these vidoe games can not be ignored which cause negative effects on them.

To conclude, it is very complex to decide that whether children should be allowed to play video games. Some people suggest to restrict their video game playing time with strict supervision from their parents. But, I still contend that children should not be allowed to play video game, especially for the reason of their addiction and negative effects on their physical and mental health.