Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nobody can deny that the advent of computers has influenced people's lives. Children are no exception to this phenomenon. In this regard, individuals, especially parents, have to deliberate on using computers by children much more meticulously. Some people believe that taking up the children's time, playing computer games should be banned; however, the others disagree. I am in agreement with the former group. My justifications for this are as follows:

The first and paramount reason is that computer games prevent children from learning practical skills. They take up the time that children can dedicate to gaining knowledge and expertise that are essential factors to be flourished in the modern world. The more time they spend playing the games, the more tendency they will have to continue those games. My brother experience demonstrates this reality. When he was a high school student, he played an online game that had approximately twenty levels. The complexity of the game increased throughout the levels. It is obvious that he had to spend much more time to finish the higher levels. On the other hand, his classmates utilized that time to learn the Spanish language. After graduation, he applied for a medicine company in The U.S. Not meeting the language requirement of the company, he was rejected. Had he spent his time learning a foreign language, he would have had a decent job.

Moreover, playing a computer game has a negative effect on children's mental and physical health. It requires children to sit on a spot for a long time. They do not participate in physical activities that promote their health condition. Furthermore, playing computer games lead children to be isolated. They do not spend time in the company of their friends and family members, which can help enhance their social bonding, relief from the stress and boredom. If they spent less time playing games, they would be able to interact with their counterparts and other people. Communication with others gives them an opportunity to experience a healthier life. As a result, there should be imposed a limitation on spending time on playing computer games.

It might be said that there are some positives in playing computer games, most notably the time that parents can have to pursue their personal interests when children are playing games, and it can be considered as an entertainment. Despite this, for many parents, this pleasure is outweighed by issues which can prevent their children from achieving new skills and jeopardize their health.

In conclusion, considering the foregoing points and examples, I firmly agree that children should preclude from playing computer games. Not only can it deviate children from acquiring useful skills, but it can threaten their health.