Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While some parents believe that children should not waste of time from playing computer game, and try to restrict them from playing computer, other parents claim that there is nothing bad in playing some games. From my point of view, I agree with the latter view and think that playing computer game can also bring many numerous benefit to children if those games are suitable for them. In the following paragraphs, the reasons to support my opinion will be discussed in detail.

Computer games play an essential role in a child’s development in abundant aspects. First and foremost, computer games helps a child extend his or her range of interests. To illustrate, child can find out many new things and make more exciting discoveries for themselves from playing some productive games on computer. In addition to this benefit, computer games improve children’s vocabulary, their memory and give them the opportunity to gain more knowledge which is essential for a chid’s growth. For example, my seven years old nephew learns how to speak English and remembers new English vocabulary from playing his favorite game, Simcity. Furthermore, playing cognitive games, including education for kid games, encourages children learn more about the world around them such as matching words for wildlife game, surviving on world environment game and about the importance of preserving forests and wild animals games. I strongly believe that these games on a computer advocate educational children in an effective manner.

Some people might argue that there are other different resources of information such as books and teachers that are more appropriate for kids to learn from. However, I personally think that copious games on computer give children and people the chance to learn what cannot be learnt from book. This is because playing computer games allows children to feel reality, and they are able to grasp and remember more things when they see and play rather than read it.

In summary, it is said that every coin has two sides, so does computer game. This means that playing computer game can offer plentiful advantages to children, but it can cause drawbacks if they spend a lot of their time on it daily. Therefore, it is recommended that playing computer games in moderation and under parents’ guidance should be beneficial for children’s entertainment and learning.