Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The modern world has provided people with many boons that have improved the general quality of people in many different aspects. Based on its importance, the governments choose to charge people for the service they are providing or not. In this regard, some people are of the opinion that since having access to the internet is as important as other services such as roads, the governments should, therefore, provide the internet for all at no cost. Personally, I disagree with this statement due to various reasons, two of which I'm going to elaborate upon to substantiate my viewpoint in the following essay.

First of all, the governments use the money they charge to improve the service they are providing, so a service without any cost can lead to its stagnation. This is to say, providing a service as big and important as the internet requires many investments and offices with employees, which enables the governments to continue providing their service. Hence, if the service is free, it would force the government to keep it at its cheapest and lowest condition, which can hinder further progress for both people and the governments. As a result, it seems necessary to charge people to provide for the needs and improve the internet service in the future since many other countries improve theirs. For instance, without any income from users of the internet, it would not be possible to hire people to resolve customer problems or install new equipment to improve the service. Thus, the government would either have to keep the service limited to big cities, which is not fair, or keep it at the lowest condition to be able to afford the costs.

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is most public services are not free since they are all either charging people directly or get their money from people's taxes. To be more specific, many other services such as highways or subways are charging people. Highways ask for money at certain gates, and subways are forcing people to buy tickets each time they use them. These are the government's main source of income, and they would not be able to provide any service if they didn't charge people by different means. Offering everything for free could increase the difference of life qualities in different regions, meaning people with a high income could have everything they wanted, and the poor living in the worst condition. As a result, asking for tax money is a way to make the life of everybody easier since the richest usually pay the most tax compared to the less fortunate, which helps the government to use this money and distribute their services more evenly.

In conclusion, having considered the aforementioned points, I firmly believe that the governments should charge people for offering internet access. This is because not only do they use this money to improve and expand their service, but also they need it as their main source of revenue and could not provide any service in the first place if they didn't.