Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Rather than help children with their homework, parents should encourage their children to do their work independently.

Nowadays, whether the students should finish the work by them independently or with the help of their parents has become a significant problem in education. Some people think that only by doing work independently can the potential creativity be fully cultivated, while others believe that the parents can help students finish the work more efficiently. In my opinion, there are significant benefits to be gained from accomplishing the task with their parents in collaborative efforts.

Firstly, help students do the homework will strength the relationship between parents and children. This gives children a great opportunity to communicate with their parents, also parents can be familiar with kids. For example, my uncle Steve used to be busy with his work and almost had no time to get information about his son, for example what subject he studied and what kinds of friend he had. What’s worse, my cousin got addicted into online games. When my uncle realized the problem and began to do the homework with his son in collaborative efforts. In the process, he gradually knows the preference and interest of the child and my cousin accept the prohibition of online games. We can conclude that parents will get good relationship with their children if they help them to do the homework.

Secondly, helping children with homework can help them have better thinking skills. If they do the work jointly, adolescents can get lots of suggestions of thinking in different ways. For instance, when I once had a problem of writing the strategy of air pollution. The related materials were so hard to be collected, so that I don’t know how to write it. My father told me about the “Great Smog” in the London, which killed 4000 people in 4 days. I finally wrote an excellent article which was praised by my teacher. It is obvious that parents can promote their children’s thinking skills by helping them do the homework.

However, there are some benefits to finish the work independently, which may help them learn to plan things independently. Sometimes, without the parents’ help, they may feel frustrating when facing troublesome questions with no idea, then waste too much time on some unnecessary points.

To sum up, helping children do homework can strength the relationship between parents and children, and have better thinking skills. Therefore, parents should help children do homework.