Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important for young people to follow some rules set up by society. I personally believe that the rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey aren't any close to strict. Instead, they have been more liberal compared to the past. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following passage.

To begin with, many societies' structures have changed over the last few centuries, from autocracy to domestic, which means people nowadays enjoy more freedom and liberty, and this, of course, includes the youths. A century ago, several countries still had their own social hierarchy, but today, the majority of them have collapsed. For example, the Joseon dynasty, the predecessor of Korea, was one of the many nations that had a strict stratum system. People between different classes couldn't become couples due to the law. Therefore, young people must follow these rules that eliminated their chance and right to have a romance with someone they may like, they sometimes even required to marry someone just for political purposes. However, young people in South Korea now enjoy their romance instead of the restrictions of the law. Some of whom married the rich would not be able to enjoy their current life if they were born 100 years ago.

Moreover, people become open-minded than before, so do their societies. Far from being insular, societies now are able to accept people to take occupations that once were restricted to a certain gender. For instance, people used to believe that only females can become nurses and political leaders could only be males. Nevertheless, male nurses are commonly seen in hospitals, and female leaders aren't rare cases anymore. That is to say, young people now are able to tackle the obsolete social rules that once precluded people from the field they are interested in.

In summary, since the structures of many societies have changed and people are no longer provincial, the statement is flawed. According to my exposition, I fundamentally disagree with the statement.