Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It’s hard to deny that nowadays young people are expected to abide more strict rules than older generation do when they were young, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the opinion that the society are restricting young people too strictly. However, this statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies and it should be examined meticulously. As far as civilization, social relationship and are concerned, I strongly hold that young people are not following the regulations which are too strict.

First and foremost, it is a must that individual should follow rigorous rules as our civilization evolves. To be specific, only if all citizens obey rules and be self-disciplined can the whole society become harmony. Dating back to ancient times, there was no restriction and no morality, which make it possible for our ancestors to cut one another's throat. However, with the development of social civilization, laws have been established and social rules have become crucial. In recent days, young people respect everyone regardless of their genders, races or countries, thus making a much more civilized community.

Furthermore, the fact that people who obey rules strictly are more likely to have a better social relationship with others also indicates the importance of following high-standard rules. Take the case of myself, an ordinary freshman in Tsinghua University, I find that my peers in the campus all obey strict social rules such as listening to others carefully during group discussion, and as a result, the ambience of class is excellent. What’s more, I even gain my first internship offer by helping a pregnant lady, who is the chief officer of a well-known company, in the train station. Had it not been my highly self-restricted morality, I would never acquire such a great opportunity.

Nevertheless, a voice may arises that establishing rigid regulations might kill the creativity of younger people. Ironically, people get more innovative and ambitious if everyone in the society follow strict rules because a more equal environment can be constructed. Without the worry of being cheated or being misled, people get more confident to put their dreams in to reality. In one sense, a platform is created for citizens to show their talent and ambition, which strongly benefits the development of the society.

In a nutshell, I maintain that the rules that young people are expected to follow or obey are not too strict since it benefits many aspects of the society. Admittedly, just as my favorite saying goes, as long as the reason of man continues fallible, different opinions will be formed, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.