Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The shocking number of comments on young people's behaviors today makes the criticism them hard to be ignored. Some people believe that the main cause of factor leading to these comments is the outrageous behaviors of the young. However, some people maintainremain that it is the restrictions on young people that areis too strict. From where I stand, I am more in favor of the latter view because of the following three reasons.

First and foremost, a large portionpart of tradiontional rules, which today’sthe societies still expect the young to follow, have already been out of date and thus meaningless/pointless now. A case in point is the dress code for women. In the past, when the concept of gender equality could not evenrn be imagined, women were required to wear conservative clothes that covered every inch of their skin. However, it has become a major task now to educate the young women to break the gender stereotypes and unfair social rules. Consequently, the restrictions on women's clothes are no longer suitable in today's society. Apparently, the society should stop expecting the young people to follow traditional rules as such in order to make cultural progress.

Second, there is much evidence to suggest that too many rules and restrictions contribute to the disappearance of creativity in society. In other words, the trade-off between obedienceobeydance and creativity can not be avoided. Take myself as an example, my headmaster from senior highn is a very rigorous serious and strict teacher who set a great many a bunch of rules for our class to follow. As a result, wWhile our class is famous for deciplinediscipline in our school, we never won any competition regarding creativity such as art performance and design competition. Innovative ideas are likely to be killed when following the existing rules, rather than breaking the norm, is the rewarded behavior.

Finally, when the conventional rules describe/depict a role model for young people to imitate, the social diversity will be reduced dramatically. Typically, young people are expected to find a stable job right after graduation and start a family as soon as the income is reliable. Such expectations undoubtedly have shaped some successful figures in a traditional sense. Nevertheless, personalities such as adventurous and open are regarded as disadvantageous and will be discouraged. As a consequenceresult, what makes up the society will have nothing but one style of living.

In conclusion, I maintain that the restrictions on young people in modern society are too strict because a part of these rules are already out of date. In addition, they aretoo many rules will killing the creativity of young individuals and reducinge the diversity of society.