Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Scientific discoveries should be shared around the world. Government should not keep it privately.

2020 has witnessed may conflicts between nations around many topics, and such tendency has arrived at the field of science. Some insists that new discoveries are government properties and are supposed to be kept privately. However, I take an opposite stand because I believe science should benefit all humankinds despite their nationality.

To begin with, the circulation of new discoveries represents the spirit of open source, which unite people’s knowledge and bring wonderful creations to the world. Take the famous operation system Linux for example, at the very beginning, it was a primitive system designed as a teaching instrument in the university. It is Linus who first make his own improvements and published his code online. Developers around the world were attracted by this project and kept contributing their own codes for the last thirty years. Today, Linux is the most popular operation system besides Microsoft’s Windows.

Secondly, the state-of-the-art technology can help people from less developed regions in the world. Some countries are suffering from many serious crises like starvation and desertification, while not having enough technology to handle these tasks. It would be cruel for us to stand by with scientific breakthroughs squeezed by our government. Take this pandemic for example, not all countries are capable of developing their own vaccine, it is our responsibility to publish our discoveries and help global citizens gain access to their vaccine. If making our new finding public can save lives from the other half of the world, I cannot find any reason to against such action.

Last but not least, it is the communication inside the science community that accelerate the pace of finding new breakthroughs. Science is not just about thinking and experimenting, but also communication. Sometimes people stuck in their own thoughts as they may overlook some obvious faults in their solutions. Different angles about the latest work can help point out weaknesses and pave the way for future progress. I’m aware of the importance of communication because recently, I wrote some codes for my group project. I was so confident about the quality of my code because it works perfectly on my computer. However, In the group meeting when I was reporting my work, my friends discovered a tiny bug that I never noticed. If it was not for the meeting, this bug can crash our project.

To put it in a nutshell, share new findings around can bring us numerous benefits and help build a more open and strong community around scientific research. We should tear down walls between us instead of building new ones, because it is cooperation that assists us thrive.