Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Scientists are not responsible for the negative impacts of their discoveries.

Obviously, scientists contribute a lot to the progress of our society. However, some discoveries inevitably bring some negative effects like environment pollution. Some people argue that scientists should be responsible for the adverse influences of their discoveries, while others disagree. In my opinion, I believe we should not blame scientists for the harmful consequences of their discoveries. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters, how to utilize a discovery mainly depends on thoughts of other people like politicians; scientists do not assume the responsibility to make final decisions. It is their duty to explore ideas in scientific fields and try to solve mysteries of nature. In many circumstances, whether a discovery will bring a disaster is determined by political policies and international relations rather than scientists. The invention of nuclear weapons is a compelling model of that. On the one hand, physicists in Manhattan Project successfully invented nuclear weapon, which killed thousands of Japanese citizens in World War II. On the other hand, nations that obtained the technology of producing nuclear weapons joined convetions after the war to maintain the peace worldwide. Under the regulation of these conventions, many nations are deterred by the massive power of nuclear weapon from provoking a war. In this situation, we can see nuclear weapons play a positive role in preventing large scale conflicts between nations and creating a harmonious international environment.

Besides, any discovery can bring unintended consequence, it benefits human beings in the long run despite its potential risks. If we blame scientists for downsides of their discoveries, it will discourage them from boosting the development of technology and exploring the world. For example, when people invented pesticides, they aimed to increase the yield of crops, thus solving the famine worldwide and bringing the well-being to people in developing countries. However, many pesticides turned out to be harmful to the environment by polluting the water and killing local species. To tackle this problem, scientists have been committed to improving the technique to minimize its negative effects on environment. Nowadays, we achieve the technique to produce pesticides that only kill specific kinds of insects without posing a threat to the environment. If we had decried scientists for inventing pesticides at the beginning, we would not enjoy the product of advanced technology at present.

I cannot deny the fact that some scientists breach the moral principle to utilize their discoveries to achieve commercial success. For example, a scientist manipulated gene technology to produce a clone baby. However, what we should do is to establish related councils to supervise their experiments and forbid such things in advance, not to blame them for adverse influence when they carefully obey their professional moralities.

Based on the reasons stated above, I assume that scientists should not be responsible for the negative influence of their discoveries for the purpose of encouraging scientific progress. Also, other people may play a more important role in causing a disaster.