Which one of the following values is the most important to share with a young child (5-10 years old)?

1. being helpful

2. being honest

3. being well organized

Commonly, parents and schools expect children to establish correct concepts of morality so that they can be socially healthy people. In my opinion, among various values, being well organized is most important for young children. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

For starters, well-organized people can embrace a more promising future than those who never make plans. They obtain the capability to divide a challenging task into smaller, easier ones and enforce the plan meticulously. Therefore, they are more likely to solve untractable problems and obtain achievement. The experience of my employer, Julie, is a compelling model of that. As a partner of an elite law firm, she makes a detailed schedule every day, which includes when to meet clients, when to check the product of workers, when to submit legal documents, and when to attend meetings with some officers. Making a schedule benefits her greatly in that she can make use of office hours efficiently and complete more merging and acquisition projects than her competitors. As a result, she enjoys a splendid reputation among legal professionals and was promoted to chief financial officer of a tech giant last month. This example shows that well-organized people generally have superior overall quality owing to their self-control. If she had organized her tasks randomly, she would not have enhanced her professional skills shortly after entering the law firm.

Besides, it is necessary to cultivate the habit of organizing things clearly from early ages. If we tell a high school student to be well-organized, he will likely neglect the advice or have no idea about where to start. As research conducted by a famous institution reveals, children who are educated to be well-organized before 10 years old tend to receive better grades in the college entrance exam and have better performance at work when they grow up. Understandably, it is challenging to change a habit of an adult because he has been used to behave in the previous way.

Admittedly, other personalities like honesty and helpfulness also play a significant role in being a healthy person socially and mentally. However, people can be motivated to be helpful when they has grown to adults. For example, the government could promulgate acts to offer rewards for those who help strangers in emergency. In contrast, if people lack the opportunity to become well-organized, they will remain careless for the rest of their lives.

Based on the reasons above, I believe being well-organized is the most important value to share with children because being well-organized is a solid competitive edge when facing with fierce competition. Also, it is unfavorable to miss the precious chance to teach people this quality in childhood.