Do you agree or disagree with the following statement “Should a city preserve or destroy its historic building?” use specific reasons and examples to support your answer?

These days, different people hold different perspectives on old building conservation. There is an argument that whether the city should try to conserve its old buildings or destroy them. As far as I am concerned, I strongly believe that the city should protect the historic buildings because they are cultural representations and valuable tourist magnetizations. This essay will provide further aspects and examples to support this notion in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, historical architectures expose cultural and historical developments. The majority of old buildings have unique and beautiful structure. They are truly meaningful to many indigenous people. In other words, the destruction of these remarkable architectures is a significant loss as they cannot anew build up. To illustrate this, many temples in Thailand have unique decorations. Their materials are contingent on history. Some of them which are built in the period that Thailand connected with China are adorned by Chinese ceramics. These temples have hitherto told Thai art histories and cultures. For this care, most old buildings can pass the past stories to the new generations, and they obviously are educational materials to us.

Secondly, another fact that supports my standpoint is that historic buildings are really essential for the tourism industry. They are favorite places for holiday and tourism. A number of cities in the world, such as Beijing, Bangkok, and Kyoto, have their historical architecture as the symbol of the city. Bangkok is represented by Wat Phra Kaew, the important temple in Thai history, and it is valuable to the city. It can bring enormous tourist income. If this temple is destructed, Bangkok will lose a lot of benefits. The city will benefit more by preserving its memorable old buildings than by replacing them with new unmemorable architectures.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that a city should conserve its notable buildings. This is due to the fact that they do not only represent the city’s cultures and histories, but the old architectures also support their city’s tourism industry.