Do you agree or disagree with following statement?

Should university classes be optional?

No one can deny that education is an essential aspect of life. This is because literacy would expand our cognitive abilities which in turn, will improve our lives circumstances. Therefore, I disagree that students should have the option to skip classes. The reasons for which I believe that are ditching classes would be disrespectful for educators’ positions, and students might miss invaluable lessons.

First and foremost, not attending classes would exhibit unappreciation for teachers’ diligent work. In point of fact, most of them spend countless hours preparing lectures and grading exams in order to convey information effectively for students, so skipping classes would not display gratitude for their valuable time. For instance, I remember when I was in college, I had an anatomy class, and only three students had attended the class. As a result, the professor got mad and started questioning her capabilities as a teacher. Therefore, pupils should not gain the upper hand in deciding to attend lectures because it might show improper manners to faculty members’ diligent performance.

In addition, showing up for classes can improve students’ interpersonal skills. For sure, academic classes typically contain exchanging ideas back and forth not only with the teacher, but among students as well. For example, when I was in college, during my senior year, my professors used to conduct seminars and each student had to do oral presentations. To be honest, that class aided me in becoming more confident and articulate communicate and in public speaking. This is because after finishing my presentation, my colleagues would ask me questions about my presentation and go in deep debates. Thus, attendance should be mandatory for students because it can assist them in improving their listening and speaking skills and such capabilities cannot be gained by missing classes.

Last but not least, ditching classes would deprive students the means to excel in their higher education. Indeed, during classes faculty members often mention a piece of information not in the book, which later, would affect students’ performance negatively. To illustrate, when I was in pharmacy school, I had a TPN class, the professor used to hand us the materials before the class, but every class, she used to delve deeper go more in depth. Then, during her exams, she asked deep questions, so those who were not present during the lecture failed in getting straight A’s and the ones who attended the classes were able to ace the test. Consequently, skipping classes would hurt student’s performance in school which in turn, will lead them to fall behind academically.

In conclusion, I disagree that students should choose to attend university classes for various reasons. Such reasons are that this approach show lack of respect for teachers, rob of them the opportunity to refine their abilities and would not be able to shine through their educational pathway. Hopefully, more students will become aware of the substantial benefits of attending classes provides to them.