Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Cell phones are major invention of development of the science and engineering. It has several pros and cons on individuals' communication, in turn, whole society. Personally, I believe that smartphones occasioned large peril on our society. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, people's live communication was reduced because of phones, so they do not understand each other's feelings comprehensively. Nowadays, most youngsters are always using their mobile phones even they are with their family and friends. Therefore, they are wasting their time for unnecessary matters such as mobile games instead of opening up their thoughts with others. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Last year, I dated with a girl named Maral who is addicted in applications of phones. I wanted to discuss with her about our lifestyle and happy experience. Unfortunately, she was employing her phone instead of talking with me. As a result, we could not comprehend each other's feelings and viewpoint about life, so our date was completely destroyed due to the presence of her phone. If she had not been utilizing phone, we would have pleasant discussion and satisfactory relationship. This example demonstrates the aftermath of phones on our process of getting in touch with others, and investigating their standpoint.

Secondly, youngsters are squandering time by checking out their phone, which signifies that their possibility of developing the science, technology, and our society. Knowledge of human-being is their main power of inventing innovative stuffs. However, in modern society, adolescences are spending a huge amount of time for their phones instead of learning things such as their lesson. Thereby, they are nullifying their chance of employing their knowledge to create important and applicable things in order to improve our society. On the other hand, if they expend that time for necessary things, they can develop the life on the earth. To sum up, the rate of development of essential things might be decelerated because individuals are not studying things but using phones.

In summation, although phones have facilitated certain things on our life. However, its drawbacks are more influential and bigger than its advantages. This is because the extent of face-to-face communication decreased, and students are wasting their time instead of studying to develop our society.