Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Smartphones have caused more harm than good to our society.

New advancement and technologies have made many lives easier than it was before. Those innovations also include the use of smartphones. Although some people believe that there are many negative consequences of using smartphones. In my opinion, I think that smartphones have made many tasks quite trouble-free. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the subsequent essay.

To begin with, only smartphones can save individuals from atrocious situations like crime. It can help people in case of any emergency. In other words, people can fully rely on their smartphones and call their loved ones if any sort of problem or disaster would happen. For instance, a couple of years ago, when I was coming back to home from school, somebody stole my purse and ran away. Thanks to this new innovation of smartphone that saved my life. I spontaneously called my parents and also got a chance to inform police about that event. As a result, that thief was caught by police and I got my purse back. If I had not had my smartphone, I would not be able to call police and my parents on right time.

Furthermore, smartphones at work can greatly help people in relieving stress during working hours. Making a quick call to friends and seeing a post on social media can help us from tension and anxiety that we usually get from work. As a corollary, we can be more productive at work. For example, in this pandemic, many people got laid off from my office, due to which workload have increased significantly. So, to keep myself active and freshen up, I decided to take a break for ten minutes from work every hour to keep my mind relax. I started to look funny posts on Facebook and on Twitter just to keep myself productive, and in this way I get to concentrate on my work easily. Therefore, smartphones keep individuals tension free.

All in all, smartphones can never cause harm to our society. This is because it can come handy in case of any kind of emergency and also because it keeps us stress free and make us more productive at work.