Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To solve the problems of the present and the future, people should learn from the past.

The rapid development of our society makes the present world totally different with the past. Thus, some people reckon that the past experience and approaches are outdated for today’s problems so that it is unnecessary for us to learn from them. However, I firmly hold that we should still regard the past ideas as precious reference when facing some problems nowadays even in the future since we may meet the problems that previous people met and ideas in the past are the basis of contemporary development.

First and foremost, even though the world changes rapidly, the problems present people meet may be similar to those ancestors met before like problems in laws of mathematics and physics or mistakes in chemical experiments. Taking advantage of predecessors’ approaches is so effective and efficient for us to figure out the trouble. For example, when doing an experiment, I faced some mistakes that I had never met before. Surprisingly, the previous experimental notebooks provided a solution for me to solve the mistakes immediately to avoid the worse result. It is common and inevitable for us to meet the similar problems, and the old experience and solutions are absolutely great medicine for them.

Secondly, the truth current science develops on the foundation of previous technology also provides abundant justification for my opinion. For instance, some cutting edge of the modern physics derives from the relativity theory invented by Einstein and some pop music comes from the classical symphony in the eighteenth century. What’s more, as teachers frequently exhort us, reviewing the basic knowledge and examining whether we truly understand them or not contribute to deal with new problems. The necessity of learning from the past is also obvious to the laymen.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that the past ideas have been outdated in the quickly changing world. However, such point needs examining meticulously. The classic and excellent ideas are always shining in different era since varieties of people combine them with the characteristics of times they live in and explore the ways to solve problems. Like the patriotic poems and music, in the war period, they were created to eliminate the fear and encourage us to fight for our homeland, and in the peace period, them can are the great and significant way to form our cultural confidence and national identities when we face the global challenge. Therefore, using the diverse perspectives to interpret the past can get our wanted solutions.

In a nutshell, after more and more people are exposed to my article, I believe that they will come to realize that we cannot emphasize the significance of learning from the past too much in order to solve the problems we meet nowadays and in the future.