Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Working at home through telephone and computer is better than working in a company office.

Since COVID-19 swept the whole world, people have switched their work center from company offices to home. And with the development of software for working like DingTalk and Tencent Meeting, some people generate the idea that working at home through telephone and computer may be a better choice. However, I firmly hold that working in a company office is greater, especially considering that people can directly share their ideas in the office, and the working environment is closely connected to the working status.

First and foremost, working together in the office guarantees that people can share the latest ideas face to face immediately, instead of using phones and e-mail which may often be ignored. And promptness equals efficiency. Especially for policemen who are detecting cases in the police station, they are supposed to update the newest clues about cases timely, in order to capture the criminal as soon as possible; the Wall Street managers also should concentrate on the latest information about the stock market like the Dow index to grasp the best choice to make profits. Thus the necessity for the working in the office is even obvious to the laymen.

Secondly, the truth that working environment has the profound influence on people’s working status also provides abundant justification for my opinion. Most offices are designed to improve workers’ status so that people can get highly concentrated on their project for long time. According to the recent report conducted by UCLA, it investigated people’s attitudes to the working environment. And the result showed over 80% people bolstered that the office environment contributed to their working efficiency more than home did. They preferred the specialized devices like versatile desks and powerful computers and a bit serious atmosphere in the office, at the same time, they complained about disturbance from some trivia in the home especially those who had babies.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that with lots of apps springing out, it’s also convenient and efficient for people to work at home. They can hold the meeting in DingTalk and share opinions any time through Wechat. Actually, such a working pattern provides chance for some lazy people to escape from bosses’ supervision. For example, during working at home, my brother always began to watch some TV show or play video games while holding a meeting in the ipad. Such people severely slow down the development of projects. However, working in the office can decrease the number of this phenomenon.

In a nutshell, after being exposed to my article, I believe that more and more people will come to realize that we cannot emphasize the significance of working in the office too much when considering working pattern and environment.